Latest Chess News

Blog Category / Karnataka Chess

Augustin of Kodagu wins sri. M. N. Krishna Rao memorial open chess tournament held at Dasaprakash paradise, Mysore. The first position was tied with joint lead of 8 points among 5 players where Augustin was declared winner using tiebreakers whereas Arvind Shastry, Amogha H A, Sanjay N and Thejkumar M S came 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th respectively in open category. Continue reading
WGM Bhakti Kulkarni of Air India won the prestigious 44th National Women Challengers Chess Championship 2017 held in Mysore, Karnataka. Bhakti secured 9.5 points to clinch the title and took away Rs.72,000 cash along with Champion trophy. WGM Mary Ann Gomes of PSPB secured 1st Runner-up place with 9 points. WGM Soumya Swaminathan finished 3rd with 8.5 points. Continue reading
Arnav Muralidhar of Mysuru emerged victorious in Karnataka State Under 09 Open Chess Championship. In girls category former National U7 champion Anagha KGR, also from Mysore, remained unbeaten to clinch the title. The championship was organised by Mysore Chess center on behalf of United karnataka Chess Association at Hotel paradise, Mysore. Continue reading
WCM Isha Sharma of Belthangady won Karnataka State Women's Chess Championship 2017. Isha drew with Manasa H R of Mysuru in the last round to win the title with 6 points. Manasa H R was tied with other 3 players with 5.5 points each, but due to better tie break score she finished second. Andria D'souza (Mangalore), Prasiddhi Bhat (Mysuru) and Tulsi M (Mysuru) were placed 3rd, 4th & 5th respectively. Continue reading